Worlds Collide
80 Simcoe Street North | Oshawa, Ontario | 905-436-8999

Welcome to Worlds Collide


Feeding your imagination since 1982!

     


WC State of the Union 16th April 2018- 

Our business depends heavily on our Comics File system (the pull lists)
More than half the comics we sell go out that way

 As the number of available titles increase and with rapidly shifting trends in readership  (not to mentio the whims of the publishers)
it gets more difficult to accurately predict what books everyone is going to want.

 This is where we need you to help us, help you. Comics are solicited 3 months in advance through the Previews magazine
(which we provide free of charge) and it gives great insight a to what is going to be happening in the pages of your
favorite mags: artists, writers, storylines and highlights are generally provided. 
 
 Through the wonders of the world wide web, many of you know about what's happening in the funny books even before we do. 
 
 We would love to order 50 deep on every comic we see so that we always have whatever anyone could want, but we can't. 
We certainly carry more individual titles than any other store in the area though, but that is getting more precarious and difficult to maintain.

 The best way to keep up the choice and to get what you need is to let us know what you are collecting and to have it added to a pull list for you. 
Then, every week when new stuff arrives we tuck it away for you so you won't miss out and it helps us better gauge a comic's popularity and
gives us flexibility on ordering even more rad stuff.


 Usually when something sells out a little faster than normal we can stock back up on issues, 
but with the current trends of increasingly lower printruns coinciding with Mega Hyped events some of these things become
nearly impossible to keep up with unless we have a certain amount of notice from you.
 For example: the last 5 or 6 issues of Amazing Spidey have all sold out practically before they hit the shelves.
Late additions to the Pull Lists take copies away from the shelf and the Shelf demand has been swelling dramatically during the current run.
The book is coming out twice a month whch also dramatically decreases the time we have to reorder in compensation.
As a result, every week we have failed to satisfy the demand for the Red Goblin storyline.

  We simply can't reup our orders or acquire additional copies fast enough, or at all.

 The bottom line is, we want to get you all the comics that you need.
But we need your help. we need info. 
For what it's worth we also want to hear about what you are looking forward to or 
about what you're enjoying simply because we love comics too.

 If you have a file, good. If you don't, get one. It's easy. Just ask.
Tell us early and often about what you want and we'll do everything we can to get it.

Sincerely, WC League Chairman Emeritus 
b
.

 

Oblivion Song 




The latest and greatest from Robert Kirkman, the prolific creator of The Walking Dead.
It's a dose of Science Fiction mixed with intrigue, personal drama and a
whole bunch of big nasty monsters.

 "A decade ago, 300,000 citizens of Philadelphia were suddenly lost in Oblivion.
The government made every attempt to recover them, but after many years, they gave up.
Nathan Cole...won't. He makes daily trips, risking his life to try and rescue those still living in the
apocalyptic hellscape of Oblivion. But maybe...Nathan is looking for something else?
Why can't he resist the siren call of the Oblivion Song? "

The first issue debuts March 7th and will be an ongoing series.
Definitely for fans of Walking Dead, Outcast and of Robert Kirkman in general.
The artwork is supplied by the talented Lorenzo DeFelici and will not disappoint.
This book is the next big hit from Image Comics. Don't miss out.

Click the link here for a small preview courtesy of CBR.


Half way thru the series now and I find myself wondering,
"What else can Tom King and Mitch Gerads do to Scott Free?"


Their brilliant series MISTER MIRACLE has been an unrelenting halucinatory fun house ride of misery and suffering for
The World's Greatest Escape Artist. It truly seems as if he has found the one thing he can't escape, his life.
His life is crumbling. Everyone but his wife is either against him or using him.
The years of constant turmoil, stress, abuse and battle have left him utterly damaged.
He wants nothing more than to get out of a life that has spiralled completely out of his control.




If you are either a fan of the work that Tom King has been doing: Vision, Batman, Sheriff of Babylon, or if you want to take a wader thru the traumatised mind of a beleagured super hero who may have lost touch with all reality, this is  the book for you.
Featuring the gritty realism of Mitch Gerads' art. Stunning images that bring you inside pur hero's fractured psyche, rigidly structered as to create it's own inescapable trap and remarkable details that lend such weight to the world that Scott inhabits.
A world that is crushing him.

Issues 1 thru 6 are availble now!

To read more of Brian's thoughts on the series (which are by no means complete or resolved), CLICK HERE.